Her dream sat there – no more!

1Cor 2:1-5 “And I, when I came to you, brothers, did not come proclaiming to you the testimony of God with lofty speech or wisdom. For I decided to know nothing among you except Jesus Christ and him crucified. And I was with you in weakness and in fear and much trembling, and my speech and my message were not in plausible words of wisdom, but in demonstration of the Spirit and of power, that your faith might not rest in the wisdom of men but in the power of God.”

I consider this passage to be my “teaching life verse”. We all have verses that really just drive us to do our best for the Lord. As a shepherd/teacher, this one does it for me, along with Psalm 40:1-8.

In Psalm 40:3 David wrote “He put a new song in my mouth, a song of praise to our God. Many will see and fear, and put their trust in the LORD.”

We all have a new song to share, sometimes that song sits on a shelf for a long time, other times it just comes right out of us. That brings me to my point for today.

My wonderful wife, Deena, has had a dream for a very long time to share her story and help other women be delivered from their past hurts, in order to live glorifying lives for God. She did not have the best childhood, and when we got married way back in 1988, I introduced her to the dark world of drugs.

Please check out her blog – onewomandelivered.wordpress.com – for her telling of the story.

I can tell you this; she has been reluctant to follow this dream of hers to write and speak mainly because she has been my support and cheerleader for so long. She raised our kids – her dream sat there. I went to seminary – her dream sat there. We opened our coffee house and then a year later planted a church – her dream sat there.

I could not have asked God for a better helpmate, ever! But now is the time for her to share with others so that they can put their trust in the Lord! Now is her time to follow God on this journey!

And she can, because now the kids are grown, we’ve got four beautiful grand-daughters (so far), the house is empty, she has set up a writing desk in one of the spare rooms, and she is pursuing God’s call in her life. And it’s my turn to be the cheerleader and support staff!

I ask for your prayers as we are planning on sending her to the 13th Annual She Speaks Conference, put on by Proverbs 31 Women’s Ministries in Concord, North Carolina this coming July.

I ask for your prayers as we do fundraising for this. We know God wants her to attend, we just don’t have the extra in our budget right now, we do have faith though and a very loving faith family, so it’s gonna happen! Or, hey, if you’re a philanthropist with a heart for women’s ministry, contact me!

Thanks for checking in today!

Here’s a picture of us right before our 25th Wedding renewal ceremony a few weeks ago, yeah it’s sideways, but God still uses the twisted and warped, I think He prefers it!Image

2 responses to “Her dream sat there – no more!

Leave a Reply

