I need a weekend to recover from my weekend… Or do I?

"Take-off" photo by Scott Siddle

Isaiah 40:28-31 ESV “Have you not known? Have you not heard? The LORD is the everlasting God, the Creator of the ends of the earth. He does not faint or grow weary; his understanding is unsearchable. He gives power to the faint, and to him who has no might he increases strength. Even youths shall faint and be weary, and young men shall fall exhausted; but they who wait for the LORD shall renew their strength; they shall mount up with wings like eagles; they shall run and not be weary; they shall walk and not faint.”

This weekend kicked my butt!

I used to say that, meaning something completely back in my party days. Now it means something entirely different. And its a different kind of butt kicking!

To recap: If you caught my blog last week – Perspectives – you may remember I had quite the week building for me. That’s pretty normal anyway with my life, so I’m used to it by now. It was the weekend though that really just got me. It was a roller coaster!

Friday started with the normal 3:30 AM out of bed, get to the shop (we own a coffee house, that’s a morning gig!). My dog Tekoa, who comes with me, is really hoping for a later start most days, he’s not a morning dog!

Go through the day, head out to the church, finish my notes for Sunday, head back into town for a 5:00 meeting, my Honey and me pick up Chinese for dinner, get home, eat, get stuff ready for the next day, get some “blah time”, you may call it vegg time.

Up again on Saturday to open, only I get to sleep in till 4:30 when I open on Saturdays, whoo-hoo!  When I’m scheduled on Saturdays it makes for a long week, but I’ve been doing this schedule for a while, God blesses it, and I’m thankful for it

I work for a couple hours and then head up to my “car-guy’s” house to do some much needed maintenance on my Honey’s car. It’s good to have a car guy to help. I’m mechanically inclined, but I like to have the fellowship and conversation while doing it.

Well this weekend was also poker night with my son’s-in-law and a couple of their friends from church/work. They live about an hour away, and my daughters have told them they can do this once a month, just after the baby girls go to bed. So that means an 8 pm start.

I hit the sheets by nine usually, and this after doing a pre-nap in my recliner most nights, just to recheck if my eyelids don’t have holes so I can get a good nights sleep!

But this is “Man’s Night!!!” (insert best grunt noise here), I can hang, and I did. Got home at Midnight, hit the hay, looking at a good 5 1/2 hours of sleep, no problem!

Well….several years ago I got this nice new alarm clock. It has weekday alarm and weekend settings, something I really like. It’s also programmed to automatically change at the time changes, a pretty cool feature too. Except congress decided a couple years after I got my alarm to change the dates of the time changes! (I’ll address my outrage on that some other time)

Well you may have figured out what happened. Yeah, this weekend was the OLD time change, and I don’t realize as my alarm goes off that it’s an hour early. I get up, wander out to the kitchen to start the coffee for church, putter around thinking what I want for breakfast and then I see it.

The stove is telling me it’s an hour earlier than I expected, and dang it if the stupid microwave doesn’t agree with the stove. I’m thinking they’re conspiring against me! What’s worse is I think my phone laughed at me when I checked it!

Oh well, already up, spend some extra time in prayer, make use of my time, I’ve got the memorial for the infant later after our regular service, and that needed a lot of prayer.

So, get stuff done, kiss my Honey g’bye, and tell her “See you there”, get to the building, go over all my notes, pray, get ready for worship practice, etc.

Had a great morning of worship and Gods Word, only AFTER my Honey notices my stress level is off the charts and prays for me. It was the memorial, an infant of a young woman I’ve known since she was 15. (More on that tomorrow)

Well, right after my message gets done, I head to the door to get to the memorial. One of the guys asks if he can have a couple minutes and needs to give me and Deena something, I apologize, and say that I really need to go. As I hit the door, I hear that he is presenting us with 19 year coins from NA! I’m an honorary member now I guess, never went to a meeting, but highly respect the program! WOW! How cool is that! (more on that Wednesday this week, stay tuned) I sent him a text saying thank you right before the memorial.

Go through the memorial, graveside, reception after, and get home…where’s the fork? I’m done! Physically, mentally, emotionally, spiritually…

How do I get through all this? Refer back to the verses at the top of this post. Have you ever seen an eagle soar, they don’t work at it, they just rest on the wind the LORD provides!

How’s your resting and waiting on the LORD? He’s got the strength you need.

2 responses to “I need a weekend to recover from my weekend… Or do I?

Leave a Reply

