Seeking that “Seal of Approval”?

The title of this post is a synonym for acceptance. Isn’t that what we are all seeking, if we really and honestly look into the deepness of our beings? If we were to look into the reason for why social media is so popular and why so many of us write our thoughts out, we may discover the answer in some of the other synonyms for acceptance…
Ascendance, Acknowledgement, Admission, Affirmation, Favor, Recognition, Go-Ahead, Green Light, or even Nod…
We seek these things for either who we are, or who we envision ourselves to be.

How do these words and social media connect with seeking acceptance, stick with me here.

Every social media sight gives us our stats, followers, likes and the such. We post something and can instantly connect with many others. The numbers vary depending on who you are of course. Something I post on Twitter will fall way short of something say Keith Urban posts. But that doesn’t make what either of us say any less important, a post is a post, we both have our followers. Do I want the followers he has? No, I’m content with what I have on all the sites I am connected to. (I wouldn’t mind his t-shirt collection though)

Now ask me if I want my words to have an impact and affect people in a big way, my answer will be yes, even if it is just one person. I want what I have to say to be accepted. You can even disagree with what I say, and the stance I take, that’s fine. Deep down I know that you took the time to read my words and acknowledged them…acceptance! Even a negative affirmation is acceptance, maybe not the healthiest, but still, its recognition.

I guess the real question as to why we seek that “Seal of Approval” would be; Where did or do we need it from? Where did we miss it in our lives? Where are we missing now?

I may just be pondering this stuff because of the “homework” writing I have been doing, or maybe because I have my 30 year highschool reunion this year, not sure. I’m sure that in some of all this writing I’ll find the answer.

One thing I do know for sure…
My Heavenly Father accepts me for who I am and where I’m at; baggage and all!
He sealed me with approval when He sent His Son to die for my sins and I recognized the price He paid for me! ACCEPTANCE!!!

That’s this shepherd’s stance for today, thanks for tuning in!

One response to “Seeking that “Seal of Approval”?

  1. Amen! I definitely think people use different social media platforms for acceptance and it’s good to be careful to not get too caught up in seeking our validation from others when we’ve already received it a long time ago in Christ.

Leave a Reply

