What is it to lack?

Here begins my musings on Psalm 23 and how it relates to this journey I’m on…

That's me in the middle!

That’s me in the middle!

“The LORD is my Shepherd there is nothing I lack.” Psalm 23:1

How is it that the One who (the Bible tells me) knew me before I was born and planned out my steps,

then gave His life for me, can be a Shepherd to me also?

First off I’ve got to wrap my brain around this concept of shepherd. I see sheep out in a field in the area I live

and they are fenced in. I generally see no one attending to them, they are just free to roam the area

they have been given to graze.

My youngest daughter raised sheep as her FFA projects.

It was penned except when she put a muzzle harness on it to train it for show or to groom it.

Not so when this psalm was written, nor now if you visit Israel. Sheep had pens that they were put in at night but during the day they follow their shepherd where he leads them.

A shepherd with his flock in Israel March 2007

A shepherd with his flock in Israel March 2007

The shepherd is ever present, watching over his flock with protective eyes while they graze.

While in Israel back in ’07, I had the privilege of seeing many shepherds with their flocks of goats and sheep.

Each had a different way of leading their charges. Some had the traditional shepherd’s crook,

others utilized dogs, some used rocks to guide.
Those who used rocks did not throw them at the sheep, just near them. Sheep are rather skittish creatures, and very defenseless as well. So a well thrown rock will keep them from harm or wandering.

It was actually a shepherd throwing a rock who discovered the Dead Sea scrolls.
The most beautiful sound we heard one day was a shepherd leading their flock while playing a flute, it stopped us in our tracks, all of us were willing to follow that sound.

A shepherd with his flock on the streets of Bethlehem.

A shepherd with his flock on the streets of Bethlehem.

The point in all of this is that when I see that the “LORD is my Shepherd” it means that He is with me in the field on this journey. He is ever watching over my safety, even when I’ve got my head down grazing away.

And therefore “there is nothing I lack”, all I need is Him. Even in this journey through depression, He knows what I need. He knows where I am vulnerable, where I need protection, and where I need to grow. Because I did say “through”, I won’t be here forever I’m told, so while here, in this field, at this time, I will trust my Shepherd and not lack.

That’s this sheperd’s stance for today!

Leave a Reply

