How green do we need it?

My continued musings on Psalm 23 and its correlation to my journey…

Psalm 23:2 “He lets me lie down in green pastures; He leads me beside quiet waters.”

Most people read the above verse and think lush green pastures and a wonderfully serene, meandering stream. Much like the photo below…

Image

If only life was like this all the time!

But it is not always that way. Remember that moment on the bus I wrote about where we had 30 seconds to get off the bus? We were coming out the Salt Sea basin, one of the lowest points on earth,  its a desert wasteland. It has huge wadi’s that can be flooded in a matter of moments if there is rain in the higher elevations. Water does not meander here, grass is not lush here…

The shepherd on the hill ever watching his flock.

The shepherd on the hill ever watching his flock.

I may not always understand where God is leading me, and it may not look like what I need is there when we get there, but then again I’m not in control and really don’t know what I need. I do know what I want; to be through this rough patch of my journey. But just like the shepherd knowing where to lead his flock to get just the right sustenance along the journey, God knows what I need right when I need it…

the sheep get what they need, when they need it.

the sheep get what they need, when they need it.

Some day I’ll even get to hang out at those still waters all the time, not just the occasional moments like now. Now it mostly feels like a rushing river, but God is still in control of my journey through this, I’m just along for the ride!

Even in the white water, God is in control!

Even in the white water, God is in control!

That’s this shepherd’s stance for today!

Leave a Reply

