Banquet time!!!

Do you ever feel like you are being taken care of and maybe even spoiled in front of your “enemies”?

David did, that’s why he wrote in Psalm 23:5 “You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies; You anoint my head with oil; my cup overflows.”

A banquet is what he is referring too. Think Home Town Buffet, or some other all-you-can-eat establishment. That’s what he was talking about, while his enemies were left to fend for themselves.

I’ve got to stretch this a bit to fit with my journey, but bear with me. Often I am my own worst enemy. I allow things to effect me in ways that are unhealthy, then comes the spiral of depression. While all the while, God is there with this bountiful table just waiting for me to take and enjoy, to be filled with His goodness…

Image

Just part of the feasts we were regularly served while in Israel!

But even that feast in Israel pales in comparison to what God has planned for me. Because His is not just nourishment for my body…He wants to nourish and heal my spirit and soul!

That is why God also anoints my head with oil. Sheep cannot protect themselves from flies or bugs getting in their eyes, they have no tail to swat them away as other livestock can. So the shepherd pours a protective oil over their head to keep the bugs off.

God does this for me in a figurative way by pouring His Spirit over me and protecting my thoughts and mind. And He does it in such a matter that I don’t lack; “my cup overflows”!

I’ve just got to keep my focus on what matters most…His goodness and faithful love.

But that’s for another post!

Thanks for checking in with this shepherd’s stance for today!

2 responses to “Banquet time!!!

  1. You are so right, my cup runth over. God has bless me so much. Just went to dr. No broken bones praise the lord. Thank you for ur words I really get alot from them. God Bless you sandy

Leave a Reply

