“ONLY” what a powerful word!

Psalm 23:6  “Only goodness and faithful love will pursue me all the days of my life, and I will dwell in the house of the LORD as long as I live.” (HCSB)

“Only”…

Somehow that simple word is so powerful in this verse. It means nothing else but “goodness and faithful love will pursue me”. ONLY those wonderful things will come after me to overtake me; ONLY those will work to make my life better; ONLY those will come after me for the rest of my life!

WOW! I’m not quite sure I can wrap my brain around that. Especially in this journey, as I see myself pretty jacked up, and technically speaking, I am. I am working through this journey the best I can with the help that is available. The help God has led me to (still waters and green pastures from Vv 2).

A friend of mine in my monthly men’s group had some great insight when I shared that I was struggling with writing down my feelings of things past. He simply said, “Maybe God has already healed you of those things, so why try to dig them up?”

God does meet me right where I am; He loves me just as I am; but loves me more than to leave me where I am. Thus the journey continues.

I heard this verse this morning – Philippians 3:13 “Brothers, I do not consider myself to have taken hold of it. But one thing I do: forgetting what is behind and reaching forward to what is ahead,”

It was explained that only two things can ruin our focus and the gift of today; the regrets of yesterday, and the worries of tomorrow…both things that we have no control over.

Here’s to today!

Thanks for checking in to One Shepherd’s Stance for today!

Leave a Reply

