My Steps are Changing; or am I just being made aware of the right direction?

What a difference a week makes! I know, how cliche’ right?

But really, it is true. Last Monday seems like a month ago with all that has gone on in those few days.

A week ago I was going through my normal routine of getting up at 3:30 am, then head out to the coffee house and get that wonderful brown elixir brewing.

Checking emails, daily devotionals, FB posts and birthday wishes, twitter feeds, latest news headlines, and also preparing for being at a training for two days which shifts my schedule considerably. When a training takes place I have to juggle my time to make up for the time away. Thus explaining my absence from here last week.

This training was not one I presented but rather one I attended. It was for our Suicide Intervention program run through our non-profit – Sierra Sun Intervention Care. My wife and I are suicide intervention trained and train others in intervention care.

We have been looking into expanding our reach in order to help create more suicide safer communities. Our training is done through LivingWorks Education out of Calgary, a company who is the leader in suicide education, prevention, intervention, and postvention. They just celebrated 30 years of suicide education. Check out the link above. What we can provide is training in suicideTalk, safeTalk, and A.S.I.S.T., all have drop down tabs from the home page. (If you may be interested in a training, let me know, we can work out the details – sierrasuncare@yahoo.com)

My training last week was in safeTalk; helping others to be more suicide alert. Being ready, willing, and able to give support for those having thoughts of suicide. I was taking this training in order to enhance what we already offer.

With our coffee house up for sale and us feeling the pull from God to do more in the intervention field, it was needed. I am very glad I went. It was exceptionally well presented and the group of people taking the training were fantastic. Many friendships and connections were established.

It was also very cool to see God’s timing unfold during the training.

On Wednesday we handed over some more information to a prospective buyer. We also had another very interested buyer come in that morning. Our shop has been up for sale since March with very little interest or lower than anticipated offers. Now all of a sudden we have two very promising interests.

I got up earlier than normal Thursday and headed down to the O.C. (Orange County) for the training and had a rather smooth trip in L.A. traffic (shocker right?). Until, that is, I was 5 miles from my exit and traffic was at a sloths pace. I ended up about 15 minutes late to the training after being on the road for four plus hours. Not a good way to start off the day! But it all worked out.

God was working in the details behind the scenes as He always is.

The first prospective buyer was expected to give an offer that morning. Kind of ironic as the coffee house was originally my dream and here I am, 200 miles away at a training. My wife sent me a text around 12:30 and called twenty minutes later. I got both messages shortly after the call when we broke for lunch.

We had a full offer and a deposit check in hand! It was a relief and I gave God the glory at that moment, but it really didn’t sink in until I woke up the next morning. The shop is sold! Wow! Things are about to really change!

So this Monday morning I have a new perspective on things. The last ten plus years of my existence is now fading into the past; all the blood, sweat, tears, and prayers that have gotten us through building a business literally from the ground up is slowly coming to a close.

I am so ready and excited for the next chapter of this story called life to unfold!

We are told in: Psalm 37:23 “A man’s steps are established by the LORD, and He takes pleasure in his way.” (emphasis mine)

And over in Proverbs we are told in 16:9, “A man’s heart plans his way, but the LORD determines his steps.”

My steps are changing, but it is all part of God’s plan, and it’s exciting because it is God’s plan for this to happen.

What are God’s plans for you? How are your steps being directed?

That’s this shepherd’s stance for today, thanks for checking in!

5 responses to “My Steps are Changing; or am I just being made aware of the right direction?

  1. That’s such great news for both of you! I can’t wait to see what the Lord does next through you and Deena.

Leave a Reply

