I have the faith to jump out of the boat, but do I have enough to walk on the water?

Mat 14:25-29 “Around three in the morning, He came toward them walking on the sea. When the disciples saw Him walking on the sea, they were terrified. “It’s a ghost!” they said, and cried out in fear. Immediately Jesus spoke to them. “Have courage! It is I. Don’t be afraid.” “Lord, if it’s You,” Peter answered Him, “command me to come to You on the water.”  “Come!” He said. And climbing out of the boat, Peter started walking on the water and came toward Jesus.”

I admire Peter for his courage and faith to climb out of the boat in this situation. I too have been called by Christ to “Come!” into an area that seems to be very stormy and unsure right now.

Just over eleven weeks ago we sold our business to pursue the new calling God has placed in our hearts; Suicide Alertness and Intervention Training. My wife and I know this is what we are to be doing, we’ve heard the call and it has been confirmed. We’ve jumped out of the boat! OK, I jumped out of the boat and she has followed her crazy ‘dreamer’ husband once again!

Now almost twelve weeks into this new journey, the waves and wind are looking rather ominous! There is doubt that I can stay walking on the water, so to speak.

Mat 14:30-31 “But when he saw the strength of the wind, he was afraid. And beginning to sink he cried out, “Lord, save me!” Immediately Jesus reached out His hand, caught hold of him, and said to him, “You of little faith, why did you doubt?”

I know that God’s plan takes His timing, and I see the unfolding of that plan transpiring…

But with faith comes doubt, just like Peter, I feel that sinking feeling and am crying out!

Jesus is saying to me also…”You of little faith…”

It’s a matter of who I am doing this for, this new journey and all. My Honey wrote a great post about this who, read it here.

I just need to remember that God has called me to follow Him, even if it is through stormy and uncertain seas, because with Christ, things work out…

Mat 14:32-32 “When they got into the boat, the wind ceased.  Then those in the boat worshiped Him and said, “Truly You are the Son of God!””

One response to “I have the faith to jump out of the boat, but do I have enough to walk on the water?

Leave a Reply

