Support comes in many different forms.

My Honey and I just got back from a Car Show held in town. It was nice seeing all the old vehicles and old friends come out on a nice day for this event. Our kids and grand-kids who live local were there and that’s ALWAYS a good thing for us. I even took my short hairy kid Tekoa to work on his social skills and he did great.
 
This wasn’t just a run of the mill car show though. The car guys up here in our little rural community do those a couple times a year. There is also a big Rod Run annually that draws folks from all over.
 
No, this car show was to support a family whose little girl Anna has Leukemia. Anna is five years old and the oldest of three kids. Her parents are hard working folks. Her dad Ray works for the roads department and Stacy has always been a hard worker wherever she lands. She worked for us at our coffee house before she got pregnant with Anna. I was the one who officiated  their wedding. We’ve got history with these kids and it’s our privilege to support them any way we can!
Anna w cheese
The turnout for the car show was amazing. Our little community knows how to come together and support a good cause. A motorcycle club who were on their way to another fundraiser today even stopped by to lend support. One Hundred plus bikers rolled in and gave the family a check to help. It was an amazing sight!
 
Support doesn’t always have to come with crowds though.
 
Earlier this week I was called to a scene of a suicide. Part of my job as a sheriff’s chaplain. I sat with the widow for a few hours and asked her to tell me about her husband. She called me the next day and shared with me that during our time the night before she had wanted to tell me to just shut up and quit asking questions. She came to realize that I had helped her remember the good things about a man who deeply loved her and she thanked me for supporting her in that way.
 
I told her I was just winging it and God gets the glory for that!
 
Then yesterday I received support from one of my cycling buddies. I went after the hill again on our ride. This hill is a bear (that’s the clean ‘b’ word to use for this thing)! It messes with your head; short and steep for a good 3/4 mile at the nine mile mark of our ride. I had done it before but had to stop a couple times to catch my breath.
 
Yesterday as I was ascending this beast (another ‘b’ word that works), my buddy Mark was right next to me, encouraging and supporting me the whole way. If it wasn’t for his support I might have left the hill for another day.
 
As you can see from my words today, support comes in many forms, even more than I’ve mentioned here.
 
The real question is; Who needs your support today and how can you show it?
See, when you give of yourself to support others, when you need it most, someone is there to support you.
 
Go support someone today…and try not wearing socks when you do!
 
Leave a Reply

